Seventeen Magazine

Elle Fanning Spills Her Biggest Fashion Risk!

At just 13, Elle Fanning is already a total fashion icon! Elle sat down with Seventeen to talk fashion and her new movie, We Bought a Zoo. Check it out and learn where Elle gets her awesome style inspiration!

http://www.seventeen.com/cm/seventeen/images/AS/sev-best-dressed-sept-26-001-mdn.jpg

Elle Fanning stars in the new flick We Bought a Zoo, in theaters now. The stylish celeb sat down with Seventeen to talk about why she had a blast making this film, where she gets her style inspiration, and what trends she's currently loving. Check it out!


Seventeen: Do you feel like you can relate to Lily, your character in We Bought a Zoo?

Elle Fanning: I can! I’m actually a lot like her! I put a lot of myself into Lily. She’s always very happy and outgoing and I laugh a lot, so I definitely put a lot of my mannerisms into her.

 

17: Do you have any lessons that you learned through this character in the times you were playing her or through her character arc?

EF: Lily goes through some ups and does too, but her being so outgoing is the cute part about her. It teaches people not to be shy and it will be okay to just go for it.

 

17: Is that something you ever worry about? Are you shy?

EF: I’m pretty good with not being afraid to just go up to people and introduce myself.

 

17: Do you have any advice about how to do that? That’s something a lot of girls struggle with. They want to be more outgoing and fearless, but it’s hard sometimes. Do you have any advice for them?

EF: I think they just need to have that courage. There’s a really good line in our movie that says “all you need is 20 seconds of courage” and I think that’s super important. If you just think about that, then it will be fine.

 

17: What’s your favorite off camera memory from making this movie?

EF: This set was so exciting. It was very family oriented. Matt [Damon] brought his daughters and Cameron [Crowe, the director] would bring his sons. Just being on set with everyone was fun.

 

17: Let's transition to fashion. How would you describe your personal style?

EF: I always look at Style.com and look at all the designers and I know all the model’s names. For my own style, I love vintage. 60’s and 70’s are my favorite. I love baby doll dresses and the soft colors. I try to mix a little bit of modern into that — maybe I’ll wear it with boots. At my school we wear a uniform, but we have one day a week we can wear whatever we want.

 

17: Do you have a go-to outfit? If you only get one day a week I feel like that’s a lot of pressure!

EF: I take a lot of risks. I like to stand out and look unique. I break out a lot of my vintage dresses. I’m not afraid!

 

17: What’s the biggest fashion risk you’ve ever taken?

EF: I wore these men’s pants to school.

 

17: Like actual men’s pants or menswear?

EF: Like vintage 80’s men’s pants. They’re khakis. They’re super cool but really big, so I had to pull them up super high with a belt. It actually looked really good! Everyone liked them.

 

17: Who are your style icons?

EF: I love Alexa Chung. I like how she dresses young for her age. I’d much rather dress like a 5 year old than a 21 year old. I’d much rather wear a puffy sleeved shirt than some low-cut top.

 

17: Do you have a fashion obsession right now?

EF: At my school the big thing is denim jackets. They’re really coming back and we’re allowed to wear them on uniform days. I got this really good 80’s Guess denim jacket that I love.

 

17: What about a trend that you hate? Was there a 2011 trend that you wished would just go away?

EF: There hasn’t been anything I’ve worn that I’m like, “Ugh. I hate that trend!” I don’t really follow trends that much, but I always try to stay in the know. If there’s a trend, I try to make it my own.

 

17: Is there one thing people don’t know about you? Something people would be surprised to know?

EF: That’s hard! I feel like what you see is what you get with me. I don’t ever try to be someone else. I’m just myself. I’m very open.


Kommentarer
Postat av: Felicia

SV: Jag har lagt till dig nu som länk. Säg till när du länkat mig :)

2011-12-30 @ 19:50:47
URL: http://kandissnytt.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Kom ihåg mig?

Namn:

E-postadress: (publiceras inte)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback